. Lijst van slachtoffers HR schendingen, herdacht in de Filippijnse dienst van zondag 2 oktober 2011

oecumenische filippijnse parochie in nederland

Victims of HR Violations among Church People (Jan 2001-October 2011):

Summary: 30 church people killed, 5 victims of torture and detention; 1 enforced disappearance; 1 filing of fabricated charges; 1 attempted killing: 2 members of the UMC (United Methodist Church) committed suicide to escape further torture from the hands of the military.

List of Church People Killed:

1.GERTRUDE CURAMEN:08 October 2001 – one of the victims of the massacre of five fisherfolk in Pantabangan, Nueva Ecija, member, ( UMC) United Methodist Church.

2.LEO GALLARDO:08 October 2001 – one of the victims of the massacre of five fisherfolk in Pantabangan, Nueva Ecija, member, United Methodist Church Youth Fellowship.

3.PASTOR JOSE BUENDIA:19 November 2003 – former Born-Again Pastor.   

4.ISAIAS MANANO: April 2004 – Leader of the UCCP(United Church of Christ in the Philippines) Christian Youth Fellowship (CYF)

5.JOEL BACLAO: 10 November 2004 –member of UCCP, coordinator of Andurog Mayon, the Relief and Rehabilitation work of the NCCP for victims of the Mayon Volcano eruption. 

6.JUANCHO SANCHEZ:16 November 2004 – Massacre of 7 workers and supporters of Hacienda Luisita strike, including Juancho Sanchez, leader of UCCP-CYF Tarlac. 

7.VICENTE OLEA: 23 November 2004 – 71-year old UCCP member in San Vicente, Palawan. 

8.ABE SUNGIT:5 February 2005 –leader of indigenous people in Palawan, member of United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP) – IDPIP (Indigenous People’s Program), Karapatan-Palawan and PAGSAMBATAN.  

9.FR. WILLIAM TADENA:13 March 2005 – priest of Iglesia Filipina Independiente (IFI) and PCPR in Tarlac; Fr. Tadena was an active supporter of the Hacienda Luisita workers.  

10.PASTOR HABLITO SOLINA:11 April 2005 – a church worker of People’s Missionary Church.

11.ALFREDO DAVIS:15 April 2005 – member of UCCP Mahaplag, Leyte at the vicinity of Mahaplag, Leyte. His father was a former chairperson of a regional alliance of peasant organizations.  

12.REV. EDISON LAPUS:12 May 2005 –UCCP Conference Minister.  

13.REV. RAUL DOMINGO:20 August 2005 – Pastor of UCCP in Palawan.   

14.JOSE “Pepe” MANEGDEG III:28 November 2005 – Regional Coordinator of the Rural Missionaries of the Philippines, a former staff of the Regional Ecumenical Council in the Cordillera (RECCORD), and the Clergy and Laity Formation of the Philippines (CLFP).  

15.JUNICO HALEM: 6 December 2005 – member of UCCP and Bayan Muna municipal coordinator in Aluran, Misamis Occidental.   

16.MATEO MORALES:24 January 2006 –lay worker for the Religious of the Good Shepherd’s Tribal Filipino Ministry, which assists Banwaon and Manobo tribal communities in Agusan del Sur.

17.NESTOR ARINQUE:7 March 2006 – chairman of a local peasant organization which is an affiliate of Kilusang Magbubukid ng Pilipinas or Peasant Movement of the Philippines (KMP), a nationwide farmer’s organization in the Philippines. Arinque was also an active member, and previously the local church council chairman of the UCCP in Mabini, Bohol.

18.REV. JEMIAS TINAMBACAN: May 9, 2006 – UCCP Pastor and KASIMBAYAN member.  

19.PASTOR ANDY PAWICAN:May 21, 2006 – Licenciate Pastor of UCCP Pantabangan, Nueva Ecija.

20.NOEL NOLI CAPULONG: May 27, 2006 –Member of UCCP Calamba, Laguna and Chairperson of the Christian Witness and Service of UCCP Northeast Southern Tagalog Conference, former staff of the NCCP.

21.TITO MARATA:17 June 2006 – Provincial officer of the Rural Missionaries of the Philippines and a member of the Farmers for Agrarian Reform Movement. 

22.PASTOR MADONNA CASTILLO: 20 July 2006 – A Pastor of the UCCP Manila North Conference, one of the founders and an organizer of the Samahan ng mga Nagkakaisang Magsasaka ng Echague, a municipal chapter of DAGAMI (Danggayan Dagiti Mannalon iti Isabela, a provincial alliance of farmers organizations in Isabela); Former ANAKPAWIS Isabela Spokesperson, graduate of ETS.

23.REI MON GURAN: 31 July 2006 – an active youth leader of the United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP) in Sorsogon. He was also a provincial coordinator of the League of Filipino Students (LFS) in Albay, Spokesperson of the Education for All Movement (E4ALL), staff writer of PEGASUS, official student publication of Aquinas University and member of Bicol Academe Against Betrayal of Arroyo (BABA Movement) when he was assassinated.

24.PASTOR ISAIAS STA. ROSA: 03 August 2006 – Isaias Sta. Rosa of Malobago, Daraga, Albay, Pastor of the United Methodist Church

25.Bp. ALBERTO B. RAMENTO, DD.:03 October, 2006 – Iglesia Filipina Independiente, 9th Obispo Maximo Chair, Supreme Council of Bishops

26.RENATO “ATONG” PACAIDE: 02 March 2007- UCCP Member.

27.REV. FILIMINO CATAMBIS:22 January 2008 – Pastor, UCCP in Mahaplag, Leyte Province.

28.FR. CECILIO LUCERO: 06 September 2009 – Roman Catholic Priest, Catarman, Samar.

29.BENJAMIN BAYLE: Shot dead June 14, 2011 lay minister of the IFI, Diocese of Negros Occidental by members of the Philippine Army

30.RABINIO SUNGIT: 44 years old, summary execution, 5 September 2011. Active lay leader of the UCCP in Quezon, Palawan. Interpreter of the Palaw’an tribe, leader of the indigenous group Pagsambatan(Unity of Indigenous People).His brother Avelino Sungit was a victim of extra-judicial killing in 2005.

Torture and/or Illegal Detention

1.REV. CARL0S DELA CRUZ & EMILIANO COJANO, UCCP pastor and UCCP Member respectively





Enforced Disappearance: ABNER HIZARSA – UCCP Member (Still missing since March 22, 2007)

Filling of Fabricated Charges: PASTOR EDWIN EGAR – UCCP


Attempted Killing: Fr. Jose Francisco Talaban, Infanta Prelature June 26, 2010